Corporate information

Board of Directors

The board of the Saffron Building Society is made up of executive and non-executive directors. The role of the directors is to deal with the day-to-day running of the Society, while non-executive directors, who are from a range of different backgrounds, bring an outside perspective to the management of the Society and also represent the views of the membership.

  • Geoffrey Dunn

    Geoffrey DunnChairman

    Geoffrey Dunn has almost 40 years' experience in financial services, and IT.

    Following an early career in banking he became Group Finance Director of the global financial broker, Exco International plc which was followed by a move to Brussels, initially as Chief Financial Officer (CFO) of SWIFT and later as CFO of Global One.

    He returned to the UK as Group FD of Xansa, the FTSE listed IT company before undertaking a number of major interim financial roles including: Finance Director of the Bank of England, Business Finance Director for Co-operative Financial Services and latterly Chief Financial Officer of Northern Rock plc during its reconstruction and split. Geoff was also a non-executive director (and deputy Chairman) of Citadele Banka sc (the Latvian equivalent to NR).

    Geoffrey joined the Board in May 2011 and became Chairman in 2014.

  • Nick Treble

    Nick TrebleVice Chairman and Non-Executive Director

    Nick has 30 years' experience in financial services, working primarily in the areas of treasury, capital markets, risk management, retail and commercial banking; most recently as CEO of Allied Irish Bank GB. He is a Member of the Association of Corporate Treasurers.

    Nick joined the Board in April 2014 as a Non-Executive Director and was appointed Vice Chairman in May 2016.

  • Colin Field

    Colin FieldChief Executive Officer

    Colin Field was appointed as Chief Executive Officer in September 2015.

    He joined the Society in 2013 as Group Financial Controller, being promoted to Chief Financial Officer in May 2014.

    Colin is a Chartered Accountant who prior to joining Saffron had held a number of senior management positions with Barclays, Caudwell Group and Willis Group.

  • Gary Barr

    Gary BarrNon-Executive Director

    Gary is an IT leader with over 25 years' experience in industry, including retail, manufacturing, health and services. Most recently, Gary was Group IT Director for Dixons Group.

    Gary joined the Board in April 2014 as a Non-Executive Director.

  • Neil Holden

    Neil HoldenNon-Executive Director

    Neil is a Chartered Accountant with over 30 years' experience in financial services. He has held a number of executive roles mainly in financial control and risk management.

    Neil joined the Board in April 2014 as a Non-Executive Director and Chairs the Risk Audit Compliance and Conduct Committee. He supports the solid foundation of assurance, governance and risk management that the Society has built.

    Neil became Senior Independent Director in March 2016.

  • Jenny Ashmore

    Jenny AshmoreNon-Executive Director

    Jenny Ashmore is a marketing and commercial leader, with a focus on the changes from digital and online channels. Her executive career spans consumer, media and oil/utilities, including management team roles at Procter & Gamble, Mars Inc, Yell Group and SSE plc. She is an NED for Commonwealth Games England.

    Jenny joined the Board in May 2015 as a Non-Executive Director.

  • Liz Kelly

    Liz KellyNon-Executive Director

    Liz Kelly is a solicitor and has more than 19 years’ experience as a trusted adviser and strategic leader across financial services and other sectors. Her most recent role was General Counsel at Nationwide Building Society where she was responsible for the legal, compliance and secretariat functions.

    Liz joined the Board in May 2015 as a Non-Executive Director.

Executive Team

  • Antony Bush

    Antony BushIT Director

    Antony joined the Executive Team in September 2015 as IT Director, responsible for IT at Saffron.

    He joined Saffron in 2011 as the Chief Architect for the Technology Transformation programme and is a senior IT professional with over 20 years’ experience in industry, including education, commercial and financial sectors.

  • Rajeev Marwaha

    Rajeev MarwahaChief Risk Officer

    Rajeev joined the Executive Team as Chief Risk Officer in January 2019, responsible for all risk entered into by Saffron.

    He was previously the Head of Credit Risk and has also worked at Santander, Nationwide and Barclaycard, across both secured and unsecured lending.

Anti Bribery Policy Statement

"As an organisation, Saffron Building Society Group is wholeheartedly committed to preventing bribery and corruption in all its forms. This commitment is evidenced at all levels of our business. It is the role of the Chief Executive to ensure that our zero-tolerance attitude to corruption is advertised and implemented both internally and externally. Whether you are a customer, an employee, a supplier or any other third party with whom we do business, we commend our anti-corruption policy to you and ask that you read and comply with it. Corruption cannot be allowed to taint our business: we are proud of our heritage and values, and our reputation which helps in maintaining our position as a market leader in Financial Services." Colin Field, Chief Executive Officer

View our Anti Bribery Policy Statement